Getting to know the Canary Islands

The stunning islets of the Chinijo Archipelago in the Canary Islands
The stunning islets of the Chinijo Archipelago in the Canary Islands

CHINIJO ARCHIPELAGO Natural Park, Canary Islands

The Canary Island archipelago consists of seven islands – Lanzarote, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, Tenerife La Palma , La Gomera and El Hierro – and six islets. In total the islands have a surface area of 7,466 square kilometres with 1,114 kilometres of coastline and 257 kilometres of beaches. The climate – our great treasure – is oceanic subtropical and temperatures are mild all year round with an average temperature of 18ºC and average maximums of 24ºC.

There are 2,450,000 inhabitants in the Canaries and they are in the Atlantic Ocean at a latitude of 27º37′ y 29º25′ north and a longitude of 13º20′ y 18º10′ west. The Canary Islands are part of the Macaronesian region along with the Azores, Madeira, the Cape Verde and Salvage Islands.

Relaxing in the Hotel Royal Garden Villas in Tenerife

Hotel Royal Garden Villas, TENERIFE

Over 10 million European tourists visit the Canary islands every year, staying in 180,000 modern hotel rooms in 660 hotels, and 261,000 non-hotel rooms in 2,460 establishments. The Canaries also boast a fantastic range of tourist attractions such as golf courses, casinos, spas, leisure centres (aquariums, zoos, water parks, etc), conference centres, concert halls, marinas, and hundreds of bars and restaurants. Health and security in the Canary Islands are European standard, as is the transport network.

Taking a break in the Caldera de Taburiente National Park in La Palma

La Caldera de Taburiente National Park, LA PALMA

Four of Spain’s 14 National Parks (Garajonay in La Gomera, Las Cañadas del Teide in Tenerife, Timanfaya in Lanzarote and the Caldera de Taburiente in La Palma) are in the Canary Islands, along with Biosphere Reserves in La Palma, Lanzarote, Fuerteventura, La Gomera, El Hierro and Gran Canaria and 146 other protected natural areas. The Canary Islands are a biodiversity hotspot with almost 600 unique plants and thousands of endemic species. The Garajonay and Las Cañadas del Teide National Parks are classified as World Natural Heritage Sites and the city of San Cristobal de La Laguna (Tenerife) is a World Cultural Heritage Site. La Palma island has some of the clearest skies and lowest light contamination levels on Earth and the whole island is a World Starlight Reserve.

Golfing in the sunshine in Gran Canaria


Pleasant summers and warm winters mean that the Canary Islands bask in an Eternal Spring climate of sunny days, blue skies and stable temperatures. Sudden weather changes are rare and the archipelago gets 4,800 hours of daylight per year. This makes the islands perfect for all kinds of sports and outdoor activities in privileged natural surroundings: Elite European athletes and sportspeople flock here to train and compete in the sunshine. The long sporting history of the Canaries is reflected in our 30 world champions and six Olympic gold medalists.

The Canary Islands: A place you really have to get to know!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

two × 8 =

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>